 |
 |
Resources |
 |
 |
Library Catalog
|
 |
Library Services
|
 |
Internet
|
 |
Navigation
|
 |
UTHSCSA links
|
 |
Web email - OWA
|
 |
|
print this page
- Academic Search Complete
-
- Is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Access Medicine
-
- Access Medicine is an online resource that includes a broad spectrum of electronic textbooks, drug information, guidelines, images, and information about diagnostic tests and tools. Access Medicine also includes access to USMLEasy, an online testing service to help prepare students for Step 1 and Step 2 USMLE exams. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Access Surgery
-
- Access Surgery includes content from electronic textbooks, drug information, surgical videos, surgical animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Access Surgery also includes access to a board review test from Surgery Review Illustrated and Schwartz's Principles of Surgery: Self-Assessment and Board Review. Available to UT HSC students, faculty, and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews)
-
- Is a component of Ovid’s collection of Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. ACP Journal Club consists of two journals: ACP Journal Club, published by the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, published jointly with the British Medical Journal Group. ACP includes bi-directional links with Ovid MEDLINE and Ovid Full text. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- AgeLine
-
- Is an online, bibliographic database produced by AARP that focuses on the subject of aging and middle-aged and older adults, particularly addressing the social, psychological, economic, policy, and health care aspects of aging. AgeLine summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP.
AgeLine is produced by the American Association for Retired Persons. Its references come from the gerontology collection of AARP's Research Information Center, as well as selected articles from 300 magazines and journals. All references include original abstracts which are copyrighted by AARP. Subject keywords are assigned using the Thesaurus of Aging Terminology, published by AARP.
The database includes material from 1978 on, with selected coverage of the years 1966-1977. The database covers English-language literature from many countries. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- AGRICOLA
-
- Agricultural OnLine Access is a database of records from the U.S. National Agriculture Library covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and nutrition and verterinary science. Citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Free and open to the public.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
-
- Agricultural OnLine Access is a database of records from the U.S. National Agriculture Library covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including food and nutrition and verterinary science. Citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Alcohol Studies Database (Rutgers)
-
- The Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 80,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987. The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences including journal articles, books, book chapter, dissertations, conference papers and audio-visual materials. Free and open to the public.
- Alt HealthWatch
-
- Focuses on the perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- AMA Freida
-
- Is an interactive database containing information on over 8200 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, as well as over 200 combined specialty programs. Information is provided by program directors and updated continuously. Free and open to the public.
- American Chemical Society E-Journals
-
(Alternate Link)
- Offers 35 prestigious journals in the chemical and related sciences in addition to its weekly newsmagazine covering the chemical enterprise. ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- American Journal of Physiology
-
- An index of various AJP Consolidated journals which include:
- AJP: Cell Physiology
- AJP: Heart and Circulatory Physiology
- AJP: Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology
- AJP: Gastrointestinal and Liver Physiology
- AJP: Lung Cellular and Molecular Physiology
- AJP: Renal Physiology
- AJP: Endocrinology and Metabolism
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900
-
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900 spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period -- 200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- An@tomy.tv
-
- provides a database of detailed 3D interactive anatomy models. Models include the head and neck, shoulder, hip, thorax and abdomen, spine, knee, and pelvis and perineum. An Anatomy Study Guide is included. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Please note: it is very important to log out when your session is complete. Return to the HOME screen and click on Log Off.
- Annual Reviews
-
- Annual Reviews is a collection of authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Subject areas include Biomedical Engineering, Public Health, Pathology, Physiology, and Genetics and Genomics Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Anthropological Index Online
-
- Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- APGO Residency Directory
-
- The Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is a non-profit membership-based organization for women’s health educators. Password Protected: Obtain this code by contacting the Library Information Desk Staff at 210-567-2450. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- ARTstor
-
- ARTstor is a collection of over 500,000 digital images of art, architecture, and related material for use in research and teaching. Collections include the Art History Survey Collection, the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, the MOMA Architecture and Design Collection, the Carnegie Arts of the U.S., and the Huntington Archive of Asian Arts. Included with each image is descriptive information such as title, creator, date, size, and current location. ARTstor also provides tools to create web pages, presentations, and study guides. Pop-up blockers must be disabled to use ARTstor.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
ARTstor also features Instructor Privileges to allow instructors to create folders of images for use in lectures. Obtain the privileges access code by contacting the UTHSCSA Library Information Desk Staff at 210-567-2450.
- Aztec Learning Series
-
- The Aztec Learning System is a conceptual learning system from a 2.6 grade reading level through a community college level in all subject levels including Language Arts, Mathematics, Critical Thinking, Geography, Biology, and Select Vocational Material. This system is intended for use by students as part of a class, and students must be assigned to the program by an instructor and must know the class password in order to use it. Please note that all pop-up blockers must be disabled to use Aztec Learning and the Flash plug in is required.
- Bates Physical Exams
-
- Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th edition is based on the Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by the late Barbara Bates. It is a teaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific modules which show step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions. It includes expanded discussions of health history taking, documentation, communication, and patient/practitioner interactions. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA)
-
- A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 110,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. The database is an essential research tool for anthropologists, educators, historians, political scientists, sociologists, psychologists, legal and medical researchers, linguists, theologians, ethnobotanists, and policy makers. BNNA will appeal to anyone interested in exploring the contributions, struggles, and issues surrounding North America's indigenous peoples. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Biological Abstracts®
-
- Biological Abstracts® encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More than 6.500 serials are monitored for inclusion. The database also includes short communications such as technical notes and letters. Abstracts are provided for full-length articles. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Access is available to information published from 1980 – 2005 only.
- BioMed Central
-
- Digital full text archive peer reviewed research from over 100 life sciences journals managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the United States National Library of Medicine. Various dates of coverage are provided. Subjects include: Biology, Genetics & Life Sciences; E-Journals, Books & Newspapers; Health, Medicine & Psychology; Publicly Available Resources; and Science & Technology. Free and open to the public.
- Business Source Complete
-
- A scholarly business database which provides a collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source® Complete contains active, peer-reviewed, business related journals. Coverage offered by this database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is a solid database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Cancerlit
-
- CANCERLIT® is a bibliographic database that contains citations and abstracts for cancer literature from over 4,000 different sources, including biomedical journals, proceedings, books, reports, and doctoral theses. Beginning in June 1983, cancer-specific records from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) MEDLINE database, were incorporated into CANCERLIT. This database reflects the 2002 version of MeSH. The database is produced by the National Cancer Institute's International Cancer Information Center. Free and open to the public.
- Cardiosource Plus
-
- An online cardiovascular information and educational resource produced by the American College of Cardiology Foundation. Cardiosource enables cardiovascular professionals to easily stay up-to-date with the most relevant research findings and best practices, with analysis and commentary by experts in the field to help put the findings in perspective for immediate application in practice. Individual registration required for full access to the entire site. UT HSC Library maintains institutional subscription.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty, and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Chicago Journals
-
- University of Chicago Press portfolio of journals in print and online.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
-
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text of 337 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- ClinicalTrials.gov
-
- National Library of Medicine ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. It gives the trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. Free and open to the public.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)
-
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (COCH) includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types:
- Complete reviews - Regularly updated Cochrane Reviews, prepared and maintained by Collaborative Review
- Groups Protocols - Protocols for reviews currently being prepared (all include an expected date of completion).
- Protocols are the background, objectives and methods of reviews in preparation.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Cochrane Library
-
- The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Library consists of several evidence-based medicine databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, DARE, CENTRAL (the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials), the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Cochrane, ACP Journal Club, and DARE (EBM Reviews)
-
- This multifile database allows you to search simultaneously the three Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases: ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE). Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Cold Springs Harbor Protocols
-
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques that is continuously expanded and updated. The database is fully searchable by keyword and subject, and it has many novel features—such as discussion forums and personal folders—made possible by online publication. Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Protocols are presented step-by-step and edited in the style that has made Molecular Cloning, Antibodies, Cells and many other CSH manuals essential to the work of scientists worldwide Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Computer Source
-
- Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Consumer Health Complete
-
- Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is EBSCO's interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books and magazine articles. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Contemporary Authors
-
- Contemporary Authors is a full text resource to help researchers discover biographic details on approximately 112,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Current writers, as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century, and authors from around the world whose works have been translated into English or published in the United States are featured in this award-winning reference resource. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select
-
- Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select is an extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, a list of principal works, critical essays, and sources for further study. Updated monthly, Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select allows users to search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- CRISP
-
- CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) is a searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. The database, maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health, includes projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHSA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Free and open to the public.
- Current Protocols
-
- The Library subscribes to eight of the fourteen titles that make up the Current Protocols collection. These databases contain rich text, table, and image content, all searchable via Natural Language and Boolean queries, or browsed via an outline presentation.
Since accessing the collection directly displays all of the titles, including those for which the Library does not have a subscription, it is recommended that you access these titles through the Library Catalog: just search for "Current Protocols" as a title. It is recommended that you view the site with Internet Explorer. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology
-
- Current Protocols in Stem Cell Biology is a compilation of laboratory techniques in stem cell biology. The protocols describe required materials, steps, annotations and recipes for unique reagents and solutions.
Some overview units in this online volume describe the state of the art of the topic matter and provide a context for the procedures that follow. Included introductions describe how the protocols that follow connect to one another. Also, commentary that closes each protocol unit describes background information regarding the historical and theoretical development of the method, as well as alternative approaches, critical parameters, troubleshooting guidelines, anticipated results, and time considerations. Units have references and many indicate key references. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac)
-
- Search more than 650 full-text, regional and national newspapers, more than 60 international newspapers, hundreds of college campus newspapers and major news and business stories from over 165 McClatchy-Tribune wire services. Cover-to-cover coverage of the New York Times from 1995, USA Today, Austin-American Statesman from 1996, Washington Times from 1996, The Financial Times from 1996, and many more. Search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- DailyMed
-
- DailyMed, from the National Library of Medicine, provides information about marketed drugs. provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. This site does not contain a complete listing of labels for approved prescription drugs. Free and Open to the Public.
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET)
-
- The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)'s Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET) Service helps the DoD community access unclassified technical reports that have been approved for public release. Some full text is available. Free and open to the public.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
-
- Profiles the lives and careers of authors from all areas and genres. Each entry contains personal data, principal works, and sources for further study. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database
-
- The Dietary Supplements Labels Database, from the National Library of Medicine, offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands.
The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers. Free and Open to the Public.
- Digital Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)
-
- A database of more than 2.3 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses with coverage from 1861 to the present. Over 1.9 million titles are available for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. Nearly one million recent documents are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download. More than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Digital National Security Archive
-
- The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of primary documents, including 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Directory of Published Proceedings
-
- The Directory of Published Proceedings provides online access to published material from thousands of conferences, congresses, meetings, and symposia in subject areas including medical/life sciences, social sciences/humanities, science/engineering/technology, and pollution control/ecology. Information includes authors and paper title information. The associated database Mind: the Meetings Index provides information about future events, including deadlines for submission of abstracts and papers. Free and open to the public.
- DIRLINE (Directory of Information Resources Online)
-
- DIRLINE (Directory of Information Resources Online) is the National Library of Medicine's online database containing location and descriptive information about information resources including organizations, research resources, projects and databases concerned with health and biomedicine. This information may not be readily available in bibliographic databases. Each record may contain information on the publications, holdings and services provided. DIRLINE contains over 8,000 records and focuses primarily on health and biomedicine. Free and Open to the Public.
- DXplain
-
- DXplain, a computer-assisted decision support system, can be used in two main modes, as a medical textbook, or for case analyses. As a medical textbook, DXplain can provide a comprehensive description and selected references for over 2,200 different diseases, emphasizing the signs and symptoms that occur in each disease, the etiology, the pathology, and the prognosis. DXplain can also list a differential diagnosis for any of approximately 4900 clinical findings. In "case analysis mode" DXplain uses an interactive format to collect clinical information and produces a ranked list of diagnoses each of which could explain some or all of the clinical manifestations entered. The current DXplain knowledge base (KB) includes over 2200 diseases and over 4900 clinical findings (symptoms, signs, epidemiologic data and laboratory, endoscopic and radiologic findings). Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- DynaMed
-
- DynaMed is a point-of-care reference tool that monitors the content of over 500 medical journals to provide clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3000 topics. DynaMed is updated daily. Summaries are organized both alphabetically and by category. Each publication is reviewed cover-to-cover, and each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment
-
- Materials available through this database document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals and letters. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club (formerly Best Evidence)
-
- ACP Journal Club (ACP) is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, and consists of two journals, ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication of the American College of Physicians and the British Medical Journal Group. ACP Journal Club includes studies which ACP's editors have selected as methodologically sound and clinically relevant. ACP includes bi-directional links with Ovid MEDLINE and Ovid Full text. Database includes information from ACP Journal Club dating back to 1991. ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine merged in 2000 and all new content is listed as coming from ACP journal Club from that date.
Note: Ovid's AutoAlerts are not supported. If you want to create a reusable search strategy, save the search as a Permanent Saved Search instead. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- EBSCOhost
-
- This Web portal leads to all databases available from EBSCO Publishing. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Leads to all databases available from EBSCO Publishing.
- Economia y Negocios
-
- Economia Y Negocios is a Spanish language bibliographic database covering the areas of business and economics. More than 73,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for more than 320 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- eLibrary Curriculum
-
- eLibrary Curriculum is a searchable database with state/national curricular standards as well as curriculum resources by topic. Provides access to 2,225 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts, plus thousands of pictures, maps, weblinks, and audio/video content. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- eMedicine
-
- eMedicine, a clinical knowledge base created and maintained by nearly 10,000 physician authors and editors, provides evidence-based information on 7,000 diseases and disorders, including practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties. Content undergoes 4 levels of peer review, as well as review by a PharmD, and is updated daily. PDA downloads are available for some resources within eMedicine. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine
-
- This meta-search engine searches any or all of the National Library of Medicine's Entrez databases with one click. The databases include clinical literature (MEDLINE), population and experimental data sets (PopSet and GEO DataSets), sequence databases (Nucleotide and Protein), and more than a dozen others. Free and open to the public.
- E-Print Network (formerly known as the PrePRINT Network from the Department of Energy
-
- The Department of Energy's E-PRINT Network a gateway to over 27,850 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing over 5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE. Free and open to the public.
- ERIC
-
- The ERIC database includes annotated bibliographic records--citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data-- for more than 1.2 million items indexed since 1966, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. ERIC currently indexes more than 600 journals, the majority of which are indexed comprehensively. Free and open to the public.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
-
- ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, includes annotated bibliographic records --citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data-- for more than 1.2 million items indexed since 1966, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. ERIC currently indexes more than 600 journals, the majority of which are indexed comprehensively. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Essential Evidence Plus (formerly known as InfoPOEMs - InfoRetriever)
-
- Essential Evidence Plus is a database system of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information that searches multiple databases simultaneously. It presents clinical information in a form that allows clinicians to determine the reliability of the answers they are seeing to their clinical questions. This resource allows you to simultaneously search the following databases: Evidence Summaries, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews abstracts, Evidence-Based Practice Guidelines, Derm Expert, Decision Support Calculators, Diagnostic Test Calculators, History & Physical Exam Calculators, and ICD-9 lookup tool. You can also sign up to receive DailyPOEMs. Don't forget to Register InfoRetriever after downloading it to a PDA or your desktop.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCTR)
-
- CCTR (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register) is a bibliographic database of definitive controlled trials, and part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection. It is a joint production of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) in Washington, DC (USA) who produce MEDLINE and Reed Elsevier of Amsterdam (the Netherlands) who produce EMBASE. CCTR contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care together with references to clinical trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in MEDLINE and EMBASE. Coverage: 1991 - present.
Note: This database does not support Ovid's AutoAlerts. If you want to create a reusable search strategy, save the search as a Permanent Saved Search instead. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Exam Master Online
-
- Exam Master is a computer based learning system that assists with licensing exam preparation for First and Second Year Medical Students, Third and Fourth Year Medical Students, Physician Assistants in Training and Dental Students. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Faculty of 1000 Biology
-
- Faculty of 1000 Biology is a next generation scientific literature awareness tool. This online research service comprehensively and systematically highlights and evaluates the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty over 2300 leading researchers. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- FirstSearch: WorldCat
-
- WorldCat (the OCLC online union catalog) is a large database of bibliographic information, culled from the shared records of libraries from all over the world. Over 1 billion items, in over 400 languages are represented in the database, with holdings information, and other information vital to collection development, and cataloging. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Fuente Academica
-
- Fuente Académica is a rapidly growing collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. Fuente Académica is updated on a weekly basis and currently offers the full text for more than 450 publications from 18 countries. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Funk and Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
-
- For students and adults, the Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief bibliographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
-
- Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database for multidisciplinary research. Sources the database covers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology.
- Gerritsen Collection, The - Women's History Online, 1543-1945
-
- Women’s History Online, 1543-1945, is an international digital library that spans four centuries and 15 languages. Described as “the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world,” the collection, begun in the late 1800s, is the work of Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen and their successors. The online resource contains all 2,000,000 page images exactly as they appear in the original printed works with an interface searchable by keyword and Boolean operators. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- Google Scholar
-
- Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You may search across many disciplines and sources from peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. The most relevant results appear on the first page.
Note that each citation has a "FIND at UTHSCSA" option that will link directly to the article if it is available electronically. This link appears for all on-campus users as well as all off-campus users searching through the Library's proxy server. Off-campus users who do not go through the proxy server can click on Scholar Preferences to cause UTHSCSA Library links to display. Note that non-affiliated users who request the display of UTHSCSA links still will not be able to link to the actual article due to licensing restrictions. Free and open to the public.
- GreenFILE
-
- GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well. Free and open to the public.
- HarpWeek
-
- HarpWeek contains the indexes and text of Harper’s Weekly, with full text images and search capabilities for issues from 1857 through 1912. The developer of this electronic resource describes Harper’s Weekly as “the only consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened world-wide in the last half of the nineteenth century. The size of the Weekly’s pages prohibits the use of standard Internet browser print functions at this time. A special print application has been installed on several Library computers. HarpWeek printing information is available here: http://www.library.uthscsa.edu/consultation/harpweek/harpweek.cfm
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
-
- HCUPnet is a free on-line query system that allows instant access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases (1997-2005) that are publicly available. Using HCUPnet's easy step-by-step query system, you may generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet. HCUPnet is based on aggregate statistics tables to speed up data transfer and protect individual records, so not all possible queries can be addressed.
HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUP's Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids' Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID). Free and open to the public.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
-
- HAPI provides access to information about measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center
-
- Instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference resources. Key health web sites, articles from 2,200 general interest publications, over 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos, and a collection of Gale reference titles. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
-
- HEAL is a national repository of free, web-based multimedia teaching materials in the health sciences. In a partnership with Google, HEAL has made 180 videos available from the Neurologic exam and Pedineurologic exam. Free and open to the public.
- Health Reference Center Academic
-
- Provides access to personal health information sources plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals. Integrates the full text and images of nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews, and reference books. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
-
- Provides access to nearly 80 full text consumer health magazines, searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets, and more than 130 health reference books. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children’s health, and women’s health. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
-
- Includes nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with particular emphasis on nursing and allied health professions. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar
-
- HealthSTAR/Ovid HealthStar contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. HealthSTAR replaces the former Health Planning and Administration database (HEALTH). Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- HeritageQuest Online
-
- Provides a collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. This database contains material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Historical New York Times (1851-2001)
-
- The New York Times (1851-2004) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Household Products Database
-
- Household Products links over 7,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Free and open to the public.
- IEEE Xplore
-
- IEEE Xplore is a database that provides full text access to high quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- images.MD
-
- images.MD has over 70,000 medical images from more than 100 collections and 2,000 contributors. All content contained in images.MD is for personal use only and is copyrighted by Current Medicine Group LLC except where otherwise specified. For information about acquiring permissions to use any of the images in imagesMD, please contact the permissions department by sending an email to permissions@phl.cursci.com. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- IndexCat
-
- IndexCat is a digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office. The Index-Catalogue is a multi-part printed bibliography of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research. This database is searchable by keywords. Free and open to the public.
- Information Science & Technology Abstracts
-
- Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a database that provides coverage on subjects such as classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, electronic publishing, and more. ISTA indexes more than 450 periodicals plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. Coverage dates back to the mid-1960s and is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- ingenta
-
- IngentaConnect offers access to over 23 million articles. 10,000 electronic publications can be accessed by subscription or pay-per-view; another 20,000 journals are available for fax or Ariel document delivery. Formerly known as Uncover/Reveal.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Institute of Physics
-
- Full-text to selected journals produced by the Institute of Physics in the United Kingdom. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (IPCA)
-
- Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (formerly Microcomputer Abstracts) provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. This resource contains content coverage that extends back to the 1980s. Content extends back to the 1980’s and includes over 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- ISIHighlyCited.com
-
- ISIHighlyCited.com is a freely accessible web site that provides a means to identify individuals, departments and laboratories that have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades. Coverage includes individuals who have made accomplishments in 21 broad subject categories in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences, engineering and social sciences. These individuals are the most highly cited within each category for the period 1981-1999, and comprise less than one-half of one percent of all publishing researchers. Free and open to the public.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) on the Web
-
- Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Areas of specialty include science, technology, and social sciences. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Journals@OVID
-
- Journals@OVID is a database that provides hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. Access to full-text information is available for “subscribed journals” only. Access to bibliographic citations, references, abstracts and the tables of contents is available for all journals. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Lab Training Library
-
- The Lab Training Library is a multimedia library of training and education for the clinical laboratory. Users must set up an account using a lab code. Obtain this code by contacting the Information Desk staff. Lab Training Library will only work with Microsoft Internet Explorer, version 5.0 or higher and MS Windows Media Player, 6.4 or higher. It only works on the PC platform, not Macintosh. This program works only on a PC with Microsoft Internet Explorer, version 5.0 or higher and MS Windows Media Player, 6.4 or higher. There is no Macintosh access, and the program does not work with Firefox or Netscape.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Legal Collection
-
- Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's best law journals and provides information on legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, and ethics. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Library Literature - WilsonWeb
-
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews in more than 400 periodicals as far back as 1984. The database includes full-text coverage for selected periodicals dating back to 1997. This database provides resources that reflect the rapidly evolving trends in the field of library and information science. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- Library of Texas
-
- The Library of Texas is a service offered by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission that allows users to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple library catalogs, databases, and other knowledge collections. Presently, the Library of Texas searches through the catalogs of 76 public libraries, 52 academic libraries, 4 unique libraries, and 17 TexShare commercial databases. The Library of Texas groups these information resources together by subject and region. Free and open to the public. (Some features may require public library cards.)
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
-
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a database that provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Literature Resource Center - Contemporary Authors
-
- An online literary site that addresses all facets of literary study in one searchable interface. Its reference material includes: biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works. Search by the author's name, the title of the work, or even by the title of the periodical or journal that is part of the database. Databases include: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Literature Resource Center - Contemporary Literary Criticism
-
- An online literary site that addresses all facets of literary study in one searchable interface. Its reference material includes: biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works. Search by the author's name, the title of the work, or even by the title of the periodical or journal that is part of the database. Databases include: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Literature Resource Center - Dictionary of Literary Biography
-
- An online literary site that addresses all facets of literary study in one searchable interface. Its reference material includes: biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works. Search by the author's name, the title of the work, or even by the title of the periodical or journal that is part of the database. Databases include: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- MasterFILE Premier
-
- Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 85,827 biographies, 105,789 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps and flags. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- MD Consult
-
- MD Consult includes almost 50 medical texts, articles from more than 80 journals, over 1,000 practice guidelines, drug information, 10,000 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. “Generic” access does not require a subscription. UT HSC personnel may choose to subscribe free to MD Consult in order to personalize profiles. Registrations for personal subscriptions must be completed from a computer within the UT HSC Internet domain. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- MedicLatina
-
- MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 120 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. The database includes a wide range of topics: neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, pediatrics, clinical pathology, etc. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- MEDLINE - EBSCO
-
- MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Citations are included from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. Additionally, table of contents information for 2,400 titles (from the British Document Supply Centre.) Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- MEDLINE - OVID
-
- MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes almost 5000 international biomedical journals from 1950 to the present. It includes all references from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, and the Index to Dental Literature and is considered the premiere biomedical database. Abstracts are included for many of the citations. OVID
If you have any problems, click here for help.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- MEDLINE - PubMed
-
- MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is the same Medline database, but with a different interface. It includes all references from Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index, and the Index to Dental Literature and is considered the premiere biomedical database. Abstracts are included for many of the citations. Free and Open to the Public.
- MEDLINE in Process
-
- MEDLINE in Process is a small, rolling, database of information that is being prepared for inclusion in MEDLINE. Library registration is required for remote access through the OVID system. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- MedlinePlus
-
- MedlinePlus allows health professionals and consumers access to information about specific diseases and conditions, and also has links to consumer health information from the National Institutes of Health, clearinghouses, dictionaries, lists of hospitals and physicians, health information in Spanish and other languages, and clinical trials. Free and open to the public.
- Micromedex
-
- Micromedex is a full text database of drug and pharmacological information, including clinical use, drug interactions, and information for emergency care. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Military and Government Collection
-
- This database offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military. It has a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- MSDS - Material Safety Data Sheets online
-
- MSDS - Material Safety Data Sheets online provides information on hazardous substance. The web site is the one place to look for everything you need to know about a chemical's hazards and how to work with it safely. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- NASW Clinical Register
-
- The "NASW Register of Clinical Social Workers," 13th Edition, provides a listing of clinical social workers who have met national standards for education and experience established by the NASW Competence Certification Commission. Users may search by specialty, city, state, zip code, or name.
- National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
-
- The National Center for Health Statistics is a source of information about America’s health. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, it compiles statistical information. Data is collected from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing. Free and Open to the Public.
- National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL)
-
- This site, hosted by the Kennedy Institute for Ethics at Georgetown University, is dedicated to collecting and organizing access to bioethics literature. Represents world’s largest collection related to ethical issues in medicine and biomedical research. Links to bioethics information in NRCBL databases (ETHX on the web and Genetics and Ethics) and NLM databases (PubMed -- which can be limited to a bioethics subset, NLM Locator, and the NLM catalog), are provided.
Free and Open to the Public.
- Natural Standard
-
- Natural Standard provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. The mission of this collaboration is to address issues of safety and efficacy that directly pertain to the questions raised by clinicians, patients, and healthcare institutions. Natural Standard is an impartial service and is not supported by any interest group, professional organization, or pharmaceutical manufacturer. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- NetAnatomy
-
- NetAnatomy includes Radiographic Anatomy, Cross-Sectional Anatomy and Gross Anatomy. It teaches human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical, health sciences, and nursing students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation or USMLE (National Board) preparation. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- NetLibrary
-
- Search through thousands of books on-line and then download one of them and read it on your computer. One hundred sixty thousand titles are available. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library or TexShare.
- Newspaper Source
-
- Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 245 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
-
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Coverage spans more than 300 years and brings the personal experiences of women to researchers, students and general readers. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- OT Search
-
- OT SEARCH is a bibliographic database covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology and health care delivery or administration. The full text of the indexed resources is not in this database, just the bibliographic information to identify the material and the author's abstract when one exists. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- OvidSP Online
-
- OvidSP Online is a user-friendly interface to many of the Library's biomedical databases, including MEDLINE and PsycINFO. If you have any problems, click here for help.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Oxford University Press
-
- Oxford Journals Online, published by Oxford University Press, one of the world's premier journal publishers, contains over 200 journals in Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, and Law. E-journals are hosted by HighWire Press or located on the Oxford Journals site.
- PAIS International
-
- The PAIS International database (Public Affairs Information Service) from CSA covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, health care, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences -- with emphasis on issues that are or might become the subjects of legislation. It contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library.
- PDQ
-
- PDQ, NCI's comprehensive cancer database, contains peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, and supportive care; a registry of approximately 6,000 open and 17,000 closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and directories of physicians, genetic counselors, and organizations that deliver cancer care. Free and open to the public.
- Periodical Contents Index Full-Text
-
- Periodical Contents Index Full-Text (PCI) is an online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of major journals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. Approximately 200 journals are available covering more than 30 subject areas, with 100 more journals to be added. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- PIER (American College of Physicians)
-
- PIER (Physicians' Information and Education Resource) is a "Web-based decision-support tool" provided by the American College of Physicians and accessed through StatRef! It offers evidence-based guidance for clinical decision making. Designed for ease of use, the PIER allows users to "drill down" through seven modules (diseases, screening and prevention/complementary/alternative medicine, ethical and legal issues, procedures, quality measures, drug resource) to specific synthesized information and also provides links to additional relevant references.
- POPLINE
-
- POPLINE, the world's largest bibliographic database on population, family planning, and related issues, is now available free of charge. POPLINE brings together over 360,000 records representing published and unpublished literature in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is updated every Monday; approximately 12,000 records are added annually. POPLINE records are no longer available through the U.S. National Library of Medicine's IGM or PubMed systems. Free and open to the public.
- Population Index
-
- Population Index on the Web is a joint project of Population Index and the Computing and Library Cores at the Office of Population Research, Princeton University. This bibliography is designed to cover the world's demographic and population literature, including books and other monographs, serial publications, journal articles, working papers, doctoral dissertations, and machine-readable data files. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in the UT System Digital Library or TexShare Consortium.
- Primary Search
-
- Designed for elementary schools and children's reading rooms, this database contains World Almanac of the USA and World Almanac for Kids, searchable full text from over 70 of the most popular K-12 magazines, abstracts and indexing for over 180 titles and pamphlets. This database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. Also included are Funk and Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Animals. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Professional Development Collection
-
- Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Protein Lounge
-
- Protein Lounge includes multiple web-based databases and software to help life-scientists understand the complexity of systems biology. Systems biology efforts focus on understanding cellular networks, protein interactions involved in cell signaling, mechanisms of cell survival and apoptosis leading to development or identification of drug candidates against a variety of diseases. The "Pathway Builder" is a software feature that can be downloaded, allowing users to create their own pathways using premade membranes, organelles, proteins and other necessary pathway structures. Protein Lounge includes downloadable software called Pathway Builder 2.0. The download files for PCs and Macs both available.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- PsycARTICLES
-
- Covering general psychology, as well as specialized, applied, clinical, and theoretical research, PsycARTICLES contains more than 122,000 articles from 60 journals, 49 published by the APA. Coverage spans 1894 to present, with nearly all APA journals going back to Vol. 1, Issue 1. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- PsychiatryOnline
-
- PsychiatryOnline is an electronic collection of psychiatry reference tools. Monograph titles available include DSM-IV-TR® Library (DSM-IV-TR® and DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis) and previous editions of DSM (I, II, III, III-R, IV), among others. Journal titles available include The American Journal of Psychiatry, Academic Psychiatry, and The Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences. APA Practice Guidelines is also available. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection
-
- Nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed
journals, with full text back to 1965. Topics covered include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- PsycINFO
-
- PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2.5 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2,300 periodicals in more than 30 languages. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- PubChem
-
- PubChem is an Entrez database, from the National Library of Medicine, of small molecules that is comprised of three individual databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem Bioassay. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
PubChem, like other NCBI databases, is searchable through the Entrez retrieval system that provides users with integrated access to sequence, mapping, taxonomy, and structural data. Entrez also provides graphical views of sequences and chromosome maps. Free and open to the public.
- PubGene
-
- PubGene, a free public access Web resource, provides users with a graphical interface to access database information, primarily from MEDLINE, that catalogs the occurrence of symbols and phrases identifying complex relationships between genes, RNA transcripts, proteins, mutations, chemical compounds, pathways, or diseases in the scientific literature. PubGene uses text mining to search the abstract texts of 25 million PubMed articles for co-citation of multiple genes or proteins and displays them as “Literature Networks,” where nodes represent each gene or protein and the connecting lines represent the number of articles in which each gene or protein pair is co-cited.
PubGene is freely available on the Web at http://www.pubgene.org/, with a commercial version also available. Free and open to the public.
- PubMed
-
- PubMed is a search system from the National Library of Medicine. It includes references from MEDLINE and MEDLINE in Process, as well as a small number of references not included in these databases. It features built-in search filters for diagnosis, therapy, and prognosis, and includes links to databanks of DNA/protein sequence and 3-D structure data. PubMed also links to publishers' sites for full-text journals, although many of these journals require subscriptions for viewing. Free and open to the public.
- PubMed Central
-
- PubMed Central is the barrier-free NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research reports in the life sciences, which began accepting journal articles in January 2000. Over 500,000 full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF formats. Free and open to the public.
- Radiation Event Medical Management (REMM)
-
- From the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), new downloadable online diagnostic and treatment toolkit designed for health care providers, primarily physicians, who may have to provide medical care during a radiological/nuclear event.
Includes easy-to-follow procedures for diagnosis and management of radiation contamination and exposure, guidance for the use of radiation medical countermeasures and a variety of other features to facilitate medical responses Free and Open to the Public.
- RefWorks
-
- RefWorks, a Web-based bibliographic management program, allows you to download references from a database such as Ovid using a direct export feature. It also allows you to import a text file of citations or add citations by hand, and then, using Word (for Windows or Mac), HTML, Rich Text Format, or Text, import them as in-text citations into a written document. RefWorks can then generate a formatted bibliography, in addition to a subject bibliography. In order to use RefWorks, you will need to fill out a brief form to create a free account for yourself. You will then use the username and password you create to sign into RefWorks, even while on campus.
Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- Regional Business News
-
- Covering approximately 75 publications with news from rural and metropolitan areas, types of publications include newswires, newspapers, and business journals. Current and archived business news is available. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- REHABDATA
-
- Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, REHABDATA is a literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
- Religion and Philosophy
-
- A comprehensive database offering more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- Salud en Español
-
- Salud en Español es la interfase de EBSCO diseñada para el usuario cotidiano de información sobre el cuidado de la salud en Español. Salud provee un acceso conveniente a información médica y de salud de fácil comprensión.
Salud en Español is EBSCO's interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. Salud en Español provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information in Spanish. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online
-
- SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) provides free access to journal literature from Brazil, Cuba, Chile, Spain and Venezuela. Subject areas include Animal and Veterinary Science, Engineering, Health Sciences, Odontology, Psychology, Psychiatry, Public Health and Social Sciences. The original literature is available full text in either Spanish or Portuguese, and many articles are also available in English. Free and open to the public.
- Science & Technology Collection
-
- Science and Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts
For more than 1,700 publications. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
Provided as a benefit of participation in TexShare.
- ScienceDirect
-
- ScienceDirect is a Web database for scientific research that contains Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. ScienceDirect also contains abstracts from the core journals in the major scientific disciplines. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
-
- Information contains in Scifinder Scholar 2006 is from the CAS databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. Scholar also provides access to patient information, conference proceedings, and the CAS Registry of chemical substances. SciFinder Scholar also covers biology, life sciences, food sciences, engineering, physics and other sciences.
- Scirus
-
- Freely accessible, Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine. Coverage includes journal sources, institutional repositories, pre-print server material, scientific web pages and much more. Free and open to the public.
You can also set up Scirus to see the FIND at UTHSCSA buttons by following these steps: Step 1:
Visit http://www.scirus.com/srsapp/preferences
Step 2: Click Enable Library Partner Links Step 3: Select University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio from the drop down list Step 4: Click the Save Preferences button.
- SCOPUS
-
- SCOPUS is an abstract database containing records from peer review titles in the medical, scientific, technical, and social science literature. Full-text patent information is also included. More than half of the journal titles are from countries other than the United States and include both journals that are unique to MEDLINE and journals that are unique to EMBASE, the European biomedical database that is particularly strong in drug information. Available to UTHSCSA students, faculty and staff who have registered with the Library and have set a PIN.
|