OnlineTutorials
The UTHSCSA Library provides access to a variety of online tutorials including PDA hints, Evidence-based Medicine, Internet skills, and specific databases. These tutorials are meant to help get you started with various resources and other tools. Some of these have been created by our staff and some by staff at other libraries and may include some references to resources or policies that are not applicable to our users. We have included them anyway because the general information they provide is still valuable.
Some of these tutorials require the free Flash player.
If you do not see the information that you need, please check our class schedule or contact us at AskaLibrarian@uthscsa.edu.
Database Searching
- PubMed. This is a Web-based learning program that will show you how to search PubMed, the National Library of Medicine's free interface to Medline and related databases.
- CINAHL. This tutorial from Monash University introduces the Ovid interface to CINAHL. (Note that the tutorial's instructions for accessing CINAHL refer to Monash University's own students and faculty. UTHSCSA students, faculty, and staff can access CINAHL through the Library’s homepage.)
- Micromedex. This tutorial introduces you to all of the databases included in the product.
- mobileMICROMEDEX (Micromedex for your PDA). This brief introduction requires the free Flash player.
How to use a PDA
- Beaming a Business Card: Ever wanted to give someone your business card? Now you can beam it right into their PDA!
- Filing Applications: Tired of scrolling to find your favorite application? Here's how to organize them into categories.
- Personalizing your PDA: Did you know you can personalize your PDA by change the behavior of the application buttons, controlling the sounds your PDA makes, creating shortcuts, and setting up security features?
- AvantGo: Did you know that you can take some Web pages -- including some of the Library site -- with you? Here's how to get started with AvantGo.
- mobileMICROMEDEX: Here's a brief introduction to mobileMICROMEDEX, the PDA companion to Micromedex.
Software for Managing Bibliographies
Evidence Based Medicine
- UTHSCSA Library Starting Points for Evidence Based Practice. A collection of links and materials related to evidence-based practice. Find guides, overviews, databases, tools and current articles.
- Student's Guide to the Medical Literature. This introduction to critical appraisal of the medical literature using evidence-based techniques was created at Denison Memorial Library, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center. The site also includes directions for viewing the guide on a PDA by setting it up as an AvantGo Channel.
- Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine. This tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine. It was developed at Duke University Medical Center Library and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Science Library.
- Evidence-Based Medicine Information. This tutorial (developed at Thomas Jefferson University) will acquaint you with the concept of Evidence Based Medicine and help you to develop MEDLINE search strategies to locate reports of research in the medical literature which use evidence-based principles.
Information Skills and the Internet
|