Skip to content.  
Today's Hours: Saturday, May 17, 2008
9:00 am to 10:00 pm
Home Catalog Databases E-Journals Welcome Starting Points
About Us | Contact Us | Forms | Hours | Directions
Resources
  Off-Campus Access Login
  Library Catalog
  


  Library Services

  Internet

  Navigation
   
   Search the Web
   Site index



  Official Seal of the U T H S C S A
  UTHSCSA links

    Web email - OWA

Print Icon print this page

Remote Access to Library Databases:
A Detailed Troubleshooting Guide

  1. I'm off campus. Do I need to do anything special in order to access your databases, e-Journals, etc.?
     
  2. How do I access your databases (etc.) from off campus?
     
  3. How do I sign into EZProxy?
     
  4. How do I know if I'm already signed in to the Library's proxy server?
     
  5. I'm being prompted to sign in to the Library's proxy server in order to use PubMed, but isn't PubMed supposed to be free and open to the public?
     
  6. I'm at the CTRC and am not being prompted to sign into EZProxy.
     
  7. When I click on a link, I get a page asking for a username and password rather than the one asking for my name, badge number, and PIN.
     
  8. When I try to sign into EZProxy, I get a message that says "This is cookie.htm from the docs subdirectory".
     
  9. After entering my name, HSC badge number, and PIN, I get the error message "Sorry, Patron record not found."
     
  10. I was able to sign in to EZProxy and use the database, but after a while it gave me a message that I had timed out.
     
  11. I was able to sign in to EZProxy, but when I try to access a database I get a 405 Timeout message.
     
  12. While trying to access a database or e-journal, I get a 404 Page Not Found or File Not Found message
     
  13. I have a personal password for Ovid, but the link from Quick Links box doesn't give me the opportunity to use it.
     
  14. I'm getting a message "Incorrect ID/Password or your account has been blocked" when I try to log in to Ovid.
     
  15. I'm using an older browser such as Netscape 4.x or earlier, or Internet Explorer 4.x or earlier.
     
  16. When I log into EZProxy, I get a message that "The Page Cannot be Displayed".
     

  1. I'm off campus. Do I need to do anything special in order to access your databases, e-Journals, etc.?
    No, just follow the regular links. If you are not using a computer on the UTHSCSA network, then you will be prompted to sign in to the Library's proxy server the first time you try to access a restricted resource.
  2. How do I access your databases (etc.) from off campus?
    The databases, e-Journals, and other electronic resources to which the UTHSCSA subscribes are available for off-campus use by students, faculty, staff, and residents of the UTHSCSA. In order to be recognized as an authorized user of these resources, you must be using a UTHSCSA network connection, or use our proxy server. If you are not using a UTHSCSA computer, EZProxy will automatically detect that you need to sign in, and will give you a page to do so.
  3. How do I sign into EZProxy?
    If you are not using a computer on the UTHSCSA networik, then you will be prompted to sign in to EZProxy the first time you try to access a restricted resource. If you prefer, you can go ahead and sign into EZProxy now. Once signed in, you will remain signed in until you close your browser.
  4. How do I know if I'm already signed in to the Library's proxy server?
    Look at the URL shown in the Location or Address bar at the top of your browser. Does it start with "http://80-" or include the words "libproxy.uthscsa.edu"? If so, then you are already signed in. If not, then try clicking on a link that requires EZProxy (such as CINAHL). If it prompts you to sign into EZProxy, then you weren't already signed in and can sign in now. If it doesn't prompt you but takes you directly in, then you were already signed in.
  5. I'm being prompted to sign in to the Library's proxy server in order to use PubMed, but isn't PubMed supposed to be free and open to the public?
    PubMed is a citation database that is free and open to the public. However, most of the full text linked from PubMed is not available to the public. UTHSCSA library subscriptions make more of the PubMed full text available to registered borrowers. If you don't need to have access to this extra full text, you can go directly to PubMed. If you do want the enhanced access, you will need to sign in to the proxy server first.
  6. I'm at the CTRC and am not being prompted to sign into EZProxy.
    Some of the computers at the CTRC are detected as having the Health Science Center IP address by on-campus servers, but not by other servers, which means that you actually do need to sign into EZProxy. You will need to sign into EZProxy directly. If signing into EZProxy doesn't help, please contact AskALibrarian@uthscsa.edu or call the Information Desk at (210) 567-2450.
  7. When I click on a link, I get a page asking for a username and password rather than the one asking for my name, badge number, and PIN.
    If this happens to you, please let us know. In the meantime, you can sign into EZProxy directly. If signing into EZProxy doesn't help, please contact AskALibrarian@uthscsa.edu or call the Information desk at (210) 567-2450.
  8. When I try to sign into EZProxy, I get a message that says "This is cookie.htm from the docs subdirectory".
    EZProxy sends a "cookie" to your browser to indicate that you have been validated by the proxy and are authorized to access the restricted databases or other resources. This cookie cannot be used for any other purpose, and will be deleted when you close your browser. If your browser has not been set to accept cookies, you will see this message and will not be able to access any of the resources for which EZProxy is required. You will need to set your browser to accept cookies, and then log into EZProxy again.
  9. After entering my name, HSC badge number, and PIN, I get the error message "Sorry, Patron record not found."
    Try it again, to rule out typos. Make sure you are entering all nine digits of your HSC badge number. If you are still having problems, contact AskALibrarian@uthscsa.edu or call the Information Desk at (210) 567-2450 to verify that your HSC badge number is in the system.
  10. I was able to sign in to EZProxy and use the database, but after a while it gave me a message that I had timed out.
    Many databases have a timeout feature that automatically logs you out of the database if you haven't interacted with it for a certain amount of time. You will need to return to the page where you originally clicked on the link for that database, and log in again. Note: time spent reading an article or composing a message to accompany citations you are mailing to someone does not count as time spent interacting with the database, and may trigger the timeout even though you are still "using" the database.
  11. I was able to sign in to EZProxy, but when I try to access a database I get a 405 Timeout message.
    This happens when our server can't connect to the vendor's server within a minute or so. It usually means that there's a problem at the vendor's end. Wait a while and try it again later. If after several tries you still can't get in, please contact AskALibrarian@uthscsa.edu or call the Information desk at (210) 567-2450.
  12. While trying to access a database or e-journal, I get a 404 Page Not Found or File Not Found message
    This usually means there is a problem on the vendor's end. Try the link again. If that doesn't work, please contact AskALibrarian@uthscsa.edu or call the Information desk at (210) 567-2450.
  13. I have a personal password for Ovid, but the link from Quick Links box doesn't give me the opportunity to use it.
    If you have one of the personal passwords for Ovid (a username that begins with "tsa" followed by a four-digit number), you can use http://gateway.ovid.com or the "personal passwords" link on the All Databases page to access Ovid.
  14. I'm getting a message "Incorrect ID/Password or your account has been blocked" when I try to log in to Ovid.
    Are you using one of our Ovid usernames and passwords? The username should start with the letters "tsa" followed by a four-digit number. If you are using a username and password like this, try again to rule out typos, and then contact AskALibrarian@uthscsa.edu or call the Information desk at (210) 567-2450.
  15. I'm using an older browser such as Netscape 4.x or earlier, or Internet Explorer 4.x or earlier.
    These older browsers do not conform to HTML standards and will not be able to access some modern web sites properly, including some of the databases and e-journals linked to from our site. We recommend you upgrade to a conforming browser such as recent versions of Firefox, Safari or Internet Explorer.
  16. When I log into EZProxy, I get a message that "The Page Cannot be Displayed".
    Some versions of Internet Explorer have problems with secure servers, such as we use to protect your name, badge number number, and PIN when you log in. We recommend that you upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer, which works better with secure servers. In some cases, you may be able to get around the problem (at least temporarily) by clearing your browser's cache: From the Tools menu, choose Internet Options…, then click the Delete… button in the Browsing History section. Select Delete Fil;es to delete your Temporary Internet Files.
    Some personal firewall software programs can prevent access to secure webpages. Can you get to this Verisign page? If not, enable access to secure pages in the firewall setup or contact your firewall company for assistance.

UTHSCSA star
Page Last Modified: 10/10/2007 07:13:41 PM
Created by the UTHSCSA Library WebTeam   Contact: The WebAdmin
Web Privacy Policy   Authorized Use of Electronic Resources
Links provided from UTHSCSA Library pages to other web sites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.



CCBot/1.0 (+http://www.commoncrawl.org/bot.html)
5/17/2008 2:31:48 AM